Andy Burnham has not publicly disclosed his net worth, and the £1m–£3m range circulating online comes with no named source. What the public record does show is a Prime Minister on a claimed gross salary of £174,039 a year, a London home co-owned with his wife, and a short list of registered interests. Net worth means assets minus debts, and those documents cover only part of that sum. Here is what they say about his money, and what they leave out.

How much is Andy Burnham worth?

There is no official figure. MPs in the UK are not required to publish their savings, pensions, debts or the value of their homes, and Burnham has not volunteered those numbers.

When he became Prime Minister on 20 July 2026, Business Today wrote that "several British media reports" put him at between £1 million and £3 million, but it did not name those reports or show how the range was built. Treat it as a guess. The same piece said there is no public record of Burnham building substantial wealth through business ventures or major private investments.

What can be pieced together is his income, his declared property and his declared interests. That shows how he earns, but not what he owns in total.

Andy Burnham at a glance
Born7 January 1970, Aintree
RolePrime Minister since 20 July 2026; Labour leader since 17 July 2026; MP for Makerfield since 18 June 2026
Previous rolesMP for Leigh (2001–2017), Cabinet minister under Gordon Brown, Mayor of Greater Manchester (2017–2026)
Pay claimed as PM£174,039 a year gross (£98,599 MP salary + £75,440 ministerial salary)
Declared propertyOne residential property in London, co-owned with his wife, with rental income
Declared companiesOffice of Andy Burnham Ltd (sole director, "for office purposes"); Andy Burnham for Leader Ltd (unpaid sole director, leadership campaign)
Estimated net worthNot disclosed; no reliable published estimate

What does the Prime Minister earn in 2026?

Every PM draws two salaries: the basic pay of an MP and a separate ministerial salary. The Independent Parliamentary Standards Authority set MPs' pay for 2026-27 at £98,599, a 5% rise from April 2026.

On top of that, the Cabinet Office's September 2026 ministerial salary data shows the Prime Minister is entitled to £83,837 but claims £75,440. The document says ministers waive part of their entitlement at the request of the Prime Minister, who has chosen to keep ministerial pay frozen.

  • Entitled total: £182,436 a year (gross annual rate)
  • Claimed total: £174,039 a year (gross annual rate)
  • Waived: £8,397 a year

These are annual rates before tax. As he took office on 20 July, he will not receive the full amount in 2026.

The 15% pledge

As mayor, Burnham directed that share of his salary, reported at around £110,000 a year, to the Greater Manchester Mayor's Charity, which works on homelessness, according to The London Economic. In August, a month into the job, he pledged to do the same with his Prime Minister's pay. Press Trust of India reported the pledge as worth more than £26,000 a year, going to homelessness charities and local groups in Makerfield. "I wouldn't want to ask anybody to do anything that I'm not prepared to do," he said.

Fifteen per cent of £174,039 is about £26,100, which matches that figure.

What Burnham has declared to Parliament

MPs must list their outside interests in the Register of Members' Financial Interests. Burnham's entries, filed after his return to the Commons, are the closest thing to an official snapshot of his finances.

One London property

He declares a single residential property in London, co-owned with his wife, Marie-France van Heel. This section of the register covers property holdings worth more than £100,000, and the entry is marked as providing rental income, which under the register's heading means more than £10,000 a year. The value, the size of any mortgage and the exact rent are not disclosed.

Office and campaign companies

Under shareholdings above 15%, Burnham lists Office of Andy Burnham Ltd, describing it as a private company with himself as sole director "for office purposes". Companies House shows it was incorporated on 24 June 2026. A second company, Andy Burnham for Leader Ltd, was set up the same day to run his leadership campaign; he is its unpaid sole director.

Book money

The only earnings entry is a £3,000 payment received on 10 August 2026 from Orion Publishing Group, part of Hachette UK. The register describes it as part of an advance for a book written before he was elected to Parliament, without naming the title. Burnham co-wrote Head North with Liverpool City Region mayor Steve Rotheram, published by Orion in 2025.

The register is a list of interests, not a balance sheet. It does not cover savings, pensions, inherited money or debts, so it cannot be used to calculate his net worth.

The £345,000 in donations: not personal wealth

In August the register showed Burnham had accepted a large amount of support in the months before he entered Downing Street. The entries listed under donations add up to about £345,400. The Press Association reported a figure of more than £325,000 for the three months before he took office; the difference is largely £20,000 in trade union money given earlier for mayoral campaigning.

The largest backer was Lord Sainsbury of Turville, whose support was worth about £164,347, mostly office space and contractor costs for the leadership campaign and his office. Other declared donors include Charlie Parsons Creative Ltd (£50,000), Gary Lubner (£25,000), Sacha Lord, ThinkLabour (staff and IT, £22,186) and a £16,500 secondment from Ernst & Young.

The entries describe support for campaigns, staff and office costs, much of it in kind. Their total is not a measure of personal wealth. A Labour spokesperson said it was right that campaigns are "funded by the generous support of party donors, rather than via the public purse", and that all declarations followed parliamentary and Electoral Commission rules, PA reported.

The register also lists hospitality, including two BRIT Awards tickets from Sony Music valued at £3,800 and Glastonbury tickets and accommodation from 2025.

Andy Burnham's dad, and a modest start

Burnham's father, Roy, died on 14 September 2026 after living with Alzheimer's disease. He was a former telephone engineer with the Post Office and BT, and raised Andy and his brothers Nick and John in Culcheth, Cheshire; his mother, Eileen, worked as a GP receptionist. Burnham cancelled engagements after the death, and had told The Times in July that it was "a sadness" his father did not know his son was about to become Prime Minister.

His own career has been almost entirely in politics. Burnham went from Cambridge to trade journalism, a job as a researcher for Tessa Jowell, special adviser work, and then 16 years as MP for Leigh from 2001, including Cabinet posts as Chief Secretary to the Treasury, Culture Secretary and Health Secretary.

Where his money comes from

  • Political and public salaries since the 1990s. Researcher and adviser pay, then an MP's salary from 2001, Cabinet pay from 2007 to 2010, nine years as metro mayor and now the PM's pay.
  • Pension rights. He spent 16 years as an MP before 2017. He is likely to have pension rights from that period, but their value is not public.
  • Property. One London home, co-owned and rented out.
  • Writing. Book advances, including the £3,000 declared this year.

What stays private is the other half of the sum: savings, investments, pension values, the worth of the London home and any mortgage on it. Until those are disclosed, any precise net worth figure for Burnham is an estimate without a source. For contrast, see how business wealth shapes the profile of Morocco's Aziz Akhannouch, or how we looked at the earnings of Alex Salmond.